Faculty mentors play a crucial role in the success of ISU McNair program scholars.

A McNair faculty mentor is an experienced professor who can provide support and guidance to an inexperienced undergraduate who will need supervision in beginning and completing a research project.  A McNair faculty mentor also provides support by offering information, guidance and exposure to events and activities that inform the scholar about the graduate school experience.

The faculty mentor should have a genuine interest in the student’s future, believe in the student’s abilities and potential to succeed in graduate school, empower and support the student, and provide the student with opportunities to strengthen their graduate school application portfolio.

If you are interested in receiving more information or becoming a faculty mentor, please let us know by completing the interest form here

Faculty Mentor of the Year Award

Each year, McNair Scholars are asked to nominate their faculty mentors for the Annual Faculty Mentor of the Year Award to be announced at the Annual McNair Research Symposium and Banquet in April. In their nominations, Scholars are asked to state not only why they feel their mentor is deserving of the recognition, but also about how the relationship has prepared them for graduate school.

 The 2017 recipient of the McNair Faculty Mentor of the Year award is Dr. Ganesh Balasubramanian Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, nominated by Mouhamad Diallo.  In Mouhamad’s nomination, he noted Dr. Ganesh “has been astonishing and positive ever since I started working with him. He is an amazing faculty mentor, who always want his students to be the best.”

We are very appreciative of faculty like Dr. Ganesh and congratulate him on a job well done!!

2016: Dr. Ryan Smith, Entomology 

2015: Dr. Donald Sakaguchi, Genetics, Development and Cell Biology

2014: Dr. Clark Coffman, Genetics, Development and Cell Biology